Miles Lewis Fellowship

Distinguished international scholars in the field of architectural history will visit the Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning and deliver a public lecture as part of a new Fellowship created in recognition of renowned architectural historian Professor Miles Lewis AM. The Miles Lewis Fellowship has been made possible by the generous support of the Vera Moore Foundation

The  Miles Lewis Fellowship will support in perpetuity a series of annual or biennial fellowships for visiting scholars or practitioners in a field concerning architectural history, including; architectural and industrial archaeology but excluding art history, conservation, architectural theory or current architecture.

An international authority on urban conservation, Professor Miles Lewis has received several prestigious architecture and planning awards. Lewis studied architecture at The University of Melbourne, where he gained his doctorate in 1972. A professor of architecture at The University of Melbourne, Lewis' contribution has been acknowledged through several awards, including the Royal Australian Institute of Architects Robin Boyd Environment Award, the Walter Burley Griffin Award and the Royal Australian Planning Institute Award for Excellence.

Lewis was a founding member and later Chairman of the Australian National Committee to the International Council on Monuments and Sites. His expertise in urban conservation has been sought internationally. In 2001 he received the Centenary Medal for his contribution through the study of architectural history and the following year was honoured as a Member of the Order of Australia for his service to architectural history, heritage protection and urban planning.

The Fellowship funds travel to and from Australia, a professorial salary for a period between three weeks and three months, and other appoved expenses. The Fellow undertakes to deliver the Miles Lewis Oration, and to engage in an agreed program of research, teaching, or other activities.

The Miles Lewis Fellowship is by invitation only, though expression of interest may be sent to Theo Blankley at A Fellow is appointed by the Dean on advice of a Committee including representatives of the Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning; the Society of Architectural Historians, Australia and New Zealand; and the Vera Moore Foundation.

Recipients of the Miles Lewis Fellowship for 2020/2021
Alex Bremner Headshot
Dr Alex Bremner

Hailing from Daylesford, educated at Deakin University and reading for his PhD at the University of Cambridge (Gates Scholar 2001-04), Dr Alex Bremner joined the Faculty of Architecture at the University of Edinburgh in 2005.

His research specialty, history and theory of Victoria architecture, is interspersed with studies in architecture and empire, national identity and its relationship to the broader built environment, and religious architecture (particularly Anglican and Nonconformist cultures in Britain and its 19th c. colonies).

Author of Imperial Gothic: Religious Architecture and High Anglican Culture in the British Empire c.1840-70 (Yale University Press), which received the Alice Davis Hitchcock Medallion for 2013 from the Society of Architectural Historian of Great Britain, the William M. B. Berger Prize for British Art History (2014), the Historians of British Art Book Prize (2015), and was shortlisted for the Whitfield Prize, Royal Society (2014), Alex is also a recipient of the Hawksmoor Medal (Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain) and the Founders’ Award (Society of Architectural Historians, USA) for outstanding scholarship in the field of architectural history.

Currently, Alex currently serves as an editor for ABE Journal (Architecture Beyond Europe) and has serves as Editorial Advisory Committee member of the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians (2015-2019)and a Deputy Editor of Architectural History, the journal of the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain (2012-2014). He is the recent recipient of a Leverhulme Major Research Fellowship (2019-2021) to complete a monograph study of Edwardian civic and state architecture.

Dr Alex Bremner will be joining Melbourne School of Design and ACAHUCH for the inaugural Miles Lewis Oration in May-June 2022.

Rosemary Hill Headshot
Dr Rosemary Hill

Dr Rosemary Hill Dr Rosemary Hill is a writer, historian and independent scholar with an interest in biography, material culture and the connections between them.

She has written two prize-winning books: God’s Architect, a life of the Gothic Revival architect, A W N Pugin and Stonehenge, a history of one of Britain’s greatest and least understood monuments. Her last book, Unicorn: The Poetry of Angela Carter, was published in 2015.  She is currently completing a study of antiquarianism in the Romantic period.

She is a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and the Society of Antiquaries, a member of English Heritage's Blue Plaques Panel, a trustee of the Pugin Society and a Quondam fellow of All Souls College, Oxford.

Dr Rosemary Hill will be the Miles Lewis Fellow for 2021.

The Miles Lewis Fellowship has been made possible by the generous support of the Vera Moore Foundation, in recognition of the esteemed career of Professor Miles Lewis AM.
Vera Moore Foundation Logo